Coco

Hi! My Name Is Coco

I'm Available

Name: HHR Coco
Breed: Chow Chow
Birthday: approx 1 year old
Sex: Female
Weight: 40lbs (at last vet visit) but needs to be about 50.
Height (Shoulder to floor): approx 16 in
Location: Hannibal MO
Adoption Donation: $450
Optional Crate Fee: —
Deadline for expressing interest - 1//3/23

**This dog has not completed her vetting and will stay with her foster family until complete, unless her adopter agrees to finish vetting at an HHR approved vet.**

Behaviors-
Cats: has not been up close and personal but sees them go by and likes to bark at them.

Other dogs: she likes other dogs but doesn’t really interact/play too much. I do have a senior chug (mona) that isn’t a fan of Coco and not afraid to tell her about it. Mona will get super feisty with Coco and while Coco will growl and bark back, she doesn’t show any aggression toward her or any of my small pups. She’s also been around two golden retrievers. She did the sniff thing and while they wanted to play with her she wasn’t interested. She is definitely more about her own space and her human.

Children: never been around them but assuming fine: smaller, unpredictable children would need to be introduced slowly and never without supervision

Adults: she is timid at first. She will bark until she feels comfortable. People can pet her but again, it takes a few minutes before she will settle in and allow that. She has never ever shown aggression toward anything or anyone, just a little timid at times.

Potty Training Progress: she is 100% potty trained. She will not tell me when she needs to go out, but goes every time she is taken out (every 2-4 hours) and has never had an accident in the house.

Other behavioral info: she is truly the best! She loves to cuddle and be brushed (which she needs daily along with a monthly or bi monthly grooming)! She loves belly rubs and kisses on her little bear like snoot. She is by far the easiest foster babe I have ever had. So well behaved and so so so sweet. She even does relatively well on a leash. She does pull some but nothing too bad. Some training would be in order but as smart as she is, she will be a pro in no time. She does love to go outside and the cool weather makes her super happy. She is a dog that needs lots of exercise, so to keep her from exhibiting behavioral issues (if you know about chow chows, you know what I’m talking about). I have worked with her in the few days I’ve had her on sitting and shaking and she has both almost mastered. Again, she is very smart and eager to learn (very treat motivated).

Great things about HHR Name: she looks like a little black bear and feels like one too. She loves to be loved on and would make an amazing doggo to just the right person. A person who has previous knowledge or experience with this breed would be highly recommended.

Other things to know about HHR Name:
She is a Chow Chow thru and thru, so to research this breed and all that comes with them is necessary prior to considering her.

  • Chow Chow
  • Female
  • Puppy (5 - 24 Months)My DoB is 12/24/2022
  • Missouri
Apply To Adopt Coco
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Coco
X